The world has been ravaged by a series of climatic disasters and society is on the verge of total breakdown. Now the aliens have returned, with a full invasion force bent on nothing less than the total annihilation of mankind, starting by trying to rip the heart out of Earth's most iconic city. In New York, terrifying alien invaders stalk the streets and a nightmare plague strikes down the city's myriad inhabitants with brutal epidemic speed. The city's systems are in chaos, its streets and skyline are smashed and in flaming ruin. This is New York City like you've never seen it before. Neither paramilitary law enforcement nor the might of the US military machine can stand against the invaders, and all who choose not to flee are dead men walking. Just to survive in this maelstrom of death will require technology beyond anything any modern soldier has ever seen. One man will inherit that means to survive. One supersoldier, wielding the combat enhancement technology of the future.

Review RSS Feed Metalspy says
7 Metalspy

Mar 26th, 2011 13 people agree 1 person doesn't

This game is nothing like the previous Crytek games at all. Much less freedom (smaller levels), an IMO crappy story (after finishing the campaign I still had the feeling I was playing the intro) and it lacks the "WOW!" factor FarCry and Crysis had.

The gameplay itself is decent though, so it isn't a bad game per se. It just didn't meet my expectations of a Crytek game. The AI/pathfinding also seems to be buggy at times and some badly placed invisible barriers and bugging scripts ruined the immersion at some points. Not in a unrepairable way, but it is a shame these things occured.

EDIT: (I know editing a review is bad but I totally forgot to mention this)
The multiplayer part of the game also doesn't work for me. First I had problems with my serial key, which is a bug acknowledged by Crytek. After finally being able to join servers after waiting about 5 - 10 minutes in some kind of loby, the connection would get lost every time right after I joined a server. Not working multiplayer with lame lobbies is not good. Especially when we're talking about a PC game.

CommanderDG says
7 CommanderDG

Apr 11th, 2011 5 people agree 2 people don't

A mere shadow of it former glory. Crytek, what have you done?

SourHyperion1 says
7 SourHyperion1

Sep 9th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Crysis 2 is the sequel to the beautiful, open-ish world, Sci-fi FPS Crysis. You'd think that after playing such a fantastic game this would be great, too. Well, it isn't. I am having the worst time finding positives for this game because it has so many bad parts of it.

Gameplay: The gameplay is okay. The cover system is neat and all, but Compared to previous Crytek titles this game is incredibly linear. Sure, you get told to look at the battlefield for options. Sure, you could try stealth. But then you think, Darn! My cloak ran out in the middle of the field! Better run to cover and activate maximum armor! Well, you could, but you'll lose energy for that, too. Whereas Crysis 1 kept that on all the time with no cost of energy unless you get hit. The suit is completely different too, and not in a good way. All of those nice modes have been changed or removed. Cloak looks terrible, Strength doesn't exist. You can jump high, but not activate it to hit things hard. Speed doesn't exist as well. You get to sprint... How fun. Another annoying point: No driving in First-Person...

Story: Dry. It has you scrambling together scraps of Crysis 1 with a mess of new information.

Multiplayer: Another terrible area. I can't count the number of times I've emptied a magazine of SCAR ammo into someone's skull and died from a pistol round.

Graphics: Cryengine 3 is fantastic. The engine is beautiful, I do miss Cryengine 2's foliage reacting to the player, but I do recommend buying a higher end graphics card.

Summary: The game is nothing like its forerunner. Gameplay is boring and linear. The campaign sucks. The multiplayer is atrocious. The graphics are great. As is the cover system, but the game lacks charm and what made the first Crysis such a hit. If you want a tactical, stealthy, open FPS go play Far Cry 1, 2, or 3 (When it comes out), or Crysis 1.

EITY10 says
7 EITY10

Dec 15th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

DULL

Hana says
7 Hana

Dec 16th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Better graphic compared to the 1st game i've played. The storyline is ok, but the AI is rather dumber in the game than previous game.

Dune_Jumper says
7 Dune_Jumper

Nov 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not even half as good as the first game. Yet it's better than a lot of other FPS games I've played.
The main thing I hate about this game is the awfully limited controls.

marcusvw8 says
7 marcusvw8

Aug 13th, 2013

No review provided

FlyingPenisMonster says
7 FlyingPenisMonster

Dec 4th, 2012

No review provided

Mod_master2000 says
7 Mod_master2000

Jun 29th, 2012

No review provided

Nwodatek says
7 Nwodatek

Jun 7th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.2

215 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.