You wake up in a dark alley, not knowing anything. What has happened anyway? You struggle after the truth and answers. Answers you want to know in the darkness and fear, which makes your heartbeat race like violent blows against your head. Where do "they" come from? What has happened? Are you just turning insane? The time is up; you can't stay there reading your smses forever. It's time to head out and find the answers. Cry of Fear is a singleplayer modification of Half-Life 1 which brings you the horror you've always been afraid of. It's a total conversion of Half-Life 1, which means it uses NO Half-Life 1 content or other peoples' files. It's all made exclusively by the developers. It also uses new gaming styles that you will rarely find in Half-Life mods, such as advanced cutscenes and other stuff that will be revealed at a later date.

Review RSS Feed Mxthe says
7 Mxthe

Mar 7th, 2012 6 people agree 2 people don't

If Cry of Fear teaches us one thing, it's that it's not just about the story, but more about how it's delivered.

The game has a very retro and classic gameplay to it, with very limited inventory slots, solving strange puzzles to advance in a world that doesn't make sense, not because it was badly made, but on the contrary, because it was made to be confusing and ominous.

The Stamina bar is your worst enemy in this game, with very scarce ammunition for your fire arms, and with each of your movements (except regular walking) costing stamina, it becomes very clear that the stamina plays a major role in the game, and that is fine to accentuate the survival feeling of the combat, but during many nightmare sequences, or platforming sequences, the player is required to sprint and jump multiple times, and having to wait for your Stamina to recharge in a nightmare sequence can get tedious, but overall the addition of this gameplay mechanic adds a lot to the game.

On a technical point of view, this game is a marvel, I have found myself amazed multiple times at how good this looks for GoldSource, the ViewModels are amazing, and the enemies are not so bad themselves, I appreciated the fact that they move and behave differently than the regular Half Life NPCs, it did not feel like Half Life at all.

The weakest point of the game would be it's gameplay, many times the player is required to backtrack to very early stages of the game, to be able to move forward, and even if some plans placed around the game help, you really have to walk around and try to open every door and just try "Everything" you can think of to find the correct route.

Overall this is a good game for everyone who likes survival horror, I found myself wanting to stop playing multiple times, frustrated by annoying sequences, or just because I was lost, but the story kept me going, I just wanted answers, and answers I got.

This game isn't for everyone, but if you like this style, then you will love this one.

Reckoner says
7 Reckoner

Feb 26th, 2012 15 people agree 11 people don't

I'll give it a 7/10, though maybe it deserves 8.5/10

PROS:

- great atmosphere
- good design of some monsters and levels
- great music, especially tracks with guitar
- cutscenes
- some great moments, that happens
- this mod (or game?) is finally out, and it contains great amount of work, great

CONS:

- all of this is second-hand. really.
author's just took enormous amount of things and decisions that they watched in Silent Hill (especially 3rd and 2nd), Condemned, maybe somewhere else.

Yes, Cry of Fear is free game made by enthusiasts..
BUT.. If you make smth like made before, try to make it better.
While Cry of Fear , pityfully, is a bag of weakness.

The storyline has too many unlogical (not surreal, just unlogical) things.
The heroes' characters are just WTF? While main hero is naive idiot, the girl is also cartoonish character, and actions that are made in heroe's narration is also weak and unstable.

Locations and city are also "random".

Of course, it was just Rumpel and his friends BUT

If you watch "No Escape" fanmade movie, you'll notice that the main story line is very similar to CoF's, the difference that in Cry of Fear main hero has much less people he lost.

There is "Mulholland Drive" and "Requiem for a Dream" story types.
CoF's is close to second, i mean general message of story and metaphor.

It's really sad that with all great amount of work, "Cry of Fear" is so "inspired by inspired".

- And also backtracking. Cry of Fear's level design is not perfect for it, cause all levels are more "long way", while for backtracking better when there are "independent but clear locations".

EDIT:

Well, Cry of Fear's team has nothing with that movie, sorry.

boredgunner says
7 boredgunner

Dec 27th, 2012 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Cry of Fear certainly lives up to the hype, and is a very special mod. It feels like a game, being close to 20 hours long I'd say. It's like a first-person Silent Hill in terms of gameplay, and at times, similar atmosphere too.

It's a very interesting journey through the twisted, distorted mind of a mentally unstable, suicidal individual. I'm a fan of horror titles like this, having played through the Mistake series and Grey, but Cry of Fear is on a whole different level. Amazing mod, it deserves most of the praise.

Some things that need tweaking are the chase sequences, in which a chainsaw wielding berserk rapidly pursues you down narrow, tight corridors. The enemy is many times faster than you, and for some reason you can only sprint for a few steps before getting exhausted. They're unbalanced and just annoying as a result, and player stamina is worse than a dead person.

There's a bit of platforming in Cry of Fear, and most of it is terrible. A lot of this can be attributed to level design, such as jumping through a construction set that has tiny metal poles everywhere obstructing your path, or terrible timed platforming sections in a horribly designed level.

Another annoyance can be found on every gun; iron sights zoom in way too much, like using a scope.

pixl_man says
7 pixl_man

Apr 1st, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

So, to put it clearly, this mod is scary, but it's not what those 9-10 reviews say. It's been 4 years of development, and did they pay off? Almost.
First comes the story. Waking in an alley, with amnesia? Sorry, but that's a poor try of making the story interesting. That's an overused premise in any media. Though the story is interesting, it doesn't live up to the game's pace. There were several moments when I asked myself "What the fahk is going on?" because story focused too much in hallucinations and scares. The (bad) ending I got when I finished the game made no FAHKING sense, and I ended up reading a summary of the story to understand it. But the story's most annoying flaw is Simon's voice. I know, I know, IT'S A MOD, but his voice is flat, metallic and lifeless.
The graphics are great, and they push HL engine to its limits: shaders for the water, particles, bump mapping, deformable surfaces, etc. The mod's code is amazing. The same goes for sound (except for the voices), animations and models. Monsters aren't very creative, but at least their prescence is menacing. BUT don't be fooled: if your computer can run HL, it DOESN'T MEAN that it can run COF. Mark my words: COF IS MORE HARDWARE DEMANDING THAN HL.
It's gameplay's turn. Like in older survival horror games, you have an inventory reduced to your pockets and bag. You can assign three quick slots to items, but... for the flashlight? Inventory manage gets annoying over time. Combat is practically unforgiving. Miss one blow with the axe, and you're dead. You like guns? Well this isn't COD, so ammo is scarce, which is good for the tension, but weapons don't feel all that powerful- for your enemies. Fire a pistol and your aim will go dancing.
Puzzles are a mixed-bag, some are satisfying, and other really stupid (Why the fahk do I have to backtrack a whole town to open a door?).
I had a nice time playing, though. You'll either love or hate this mod, but play it first (+++++jumpscares, ----------------atmosphere).

Karina1 says
7 Karina1

Dec 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

oiiii eu n sei fazer download

sasasa says
7 sasasa

Aug 8th, 2012 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

Relies on jump-scare too much. These kinds of "Horror" games get boring after a while. Still, it's quite refreshing to see nice map designs and an overall dark atmosphere in a mod for Half-Life.

gazornonplat says
7 gazornonplat

Jul 26th, 2012 2 people agree 2 people don't

From a technical stand point, this is extremely impressive. In its finest moments, the graphics, sound design, and cinematic qualities to this mod are the best I can imagine goldSRC is capable of, and far greater than I would have believed prior to playing this.

However, as an experience, Cry of Fear is just okay, or perhaps above average, at least when compared to AAA horror titles. I really enjoyed it for the most part, but it's clear that the development was spread out over quite a long period of time; the levels don't have the same level of polish (structurally and narratively) as each other, and some genuinely feel a little cobbled together.

There are some moments of absolute brilliance in this mod, but I'd call them intermittent. Many of the puzzles require an irritating amount of backtracking and/or abstract thinking, and I often found myself wondering whether or not they were really adding very much to the level.

I was also rather disappointed with many of the boss battles. Regardless of your opinion on boss battles as a test of what you learned in that level, or simply a means to emphasise a situation and plot point, the bosses in Cry of Fear aren't great: With dramatically varying levels of plot-relevance and intelligence of design, many of them just felt like a token inclusion, although admittedly the better designed ones felt like narratively and thematically appropriate challenges to end a level with, and in reflection of this I applaud the developers for achieving in part something that many AAA titles do not.

Not to belittle their obvious talent, but do I feel the developers somewhat overestimated what they could achieve. I could easily forgive Cry of Fear for being shorter and more focused experientially, but what we have here is a game slightly soured by inconsistency: The weaker moments will stick in your mind almost as prominently as the brilliant ones, and you'll leave the game with just a twinge of dissatisfaction because of it.

JohnSmirnov says
7 JohnSmirnov

Apr 18th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

Well, honestly, good, but not the best mod. IMHO

Dundertaker90 says
7 Dundertaker90

Apr 11th, 2012 3 people agree 3 people don't

Its a good game, but the inventory is too short... :S

wonrz says
7 wonrz

Jul 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Great design of immersive world and downbeat soundtrack make for an atmosphere that really help you clear your mind and unwind.

But Simon ain't no Alan Wake, so please don't hire him to write any more of your games.

Community Rating

Average

9.3

2814 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.