You wake up in a dark alley, not knowing anything. What has happened anyway? You struggle after the truth and answers. Answers you want to know in the darkness and fear, which makes your heartbeat race like violent blows against your head. Where do "they" come from? What has happened? Are you just turning insane? The time is up; you can't stay there reading your smses forever. It's time to head out and find the answers. Cry of Fear is a singleplayer modification of Half-Life 1 which brings you the horror you've always been afraid of. It's a total conversion of Half-Life 1, which means it uses NO Half-Life 1 content or other peoples' files. It's all made exclusively by the developers. It also uses new gaming styles that you will rarely find in Half-Life mods, such as advanced cutscenes and other stuff that will be revealed at a later date.

Review RSS Feed C-zom says
9 C-zom

Feb 23rd, 2012 53 people agree 28 people don't

The best horror mod I've ever had the pleasure of playing. I spoke with Andreas in a notable interview a few months back and ever since have held an enormous respect for the man and what it is he sees in his projects, in his "horror", and in himself. Cry of Fear has finally launched and with it comes a turning point in open source gaming, modding, creative expression and a revitalization of the almost dead psychological modern horror that we have come to see in Jacob's Ladder, Silent Hill, Afraid of Monsters, and now in Cry of Fear.

I could justifiably complain about the dated graphics and the visual inconsistencies that mar some aspects of the mod. But why would I? These are insignificant when compared to the handling of the atmosphere; the key to any horror project. And believe me, Cry of Fear is scary. I'm not telling you its scary based on the misconception that anything that makes someone jump is "scary". I'm not saying its scary based on the misguided ideal that anything "horror" is automatically scary. You're reading a review of someone who lives, breathes, and loves the genre even makes horror mods himself--and it scared the absolute hell out of me.

Cry of Fear is soaked in loneliness, dread, foreboding, guilt, deep introspective messages and thoughtful negotiation with your inner demons. Its violent, shocking, loud and original and presents its story clearly with a sullen acceptance of death and decay. Its a mature story for a mature audience, tackling themes such as rape, drug addiction, murder, depression, bipolar, psychosis and much much more. This isn't just about monsters.

I'm running out of characters. Cry of Fear is a huge mod, with tons of content, unlockables, co-op, and about 8 hours to the story. It could be its own game and I'd pay for it. This is masterclass in horror modding and is the #1 of all time in my opinion, dethroning Afraid of Monsters. Whilst my preferred horror genre is Lovecraftian (This is quite Cronenberg), it doesn't matter.

BuZZeR says
9 BuZZeR

Mar 2nd, 2012 29 people agree 14 people don't

Game took me about 11 hours to finish. Well done, but unfortunately not perfect. Mostly, because of outdated gamedesign and unpolished gameplay.

Pros
+ Outstanding visuals and details
+ Amazing cutscenes and firstperson animations! Love it!
+ Tons of content, just insane! I was deeply impressed!
+ Many creative stuff \cool monsters, interesting levels and features\
+ Cool music and sound effects.

Cons
- Outdated game design. Feels like very old school game from early PS2 era.
- Endless repetitive levels. Great start and boring end levels. Game could be twice shorter and because of that less frustrating and annoying.
- Difficulty is just insane! You made me suffer on EASY! And it's not because I am a lame player. Looks like the game was intended only for hardcore HL-players. As an example - the level with wrecked subway car, where you have to jump and duck within limited time. Casual player will stuck there for sure.
- Lots of small bugs (hopefully will be fixed with patches)

My score - 9/10.
Definitely, the best SP mod of 2012!

ThisIsVegas says
9 ThisIsVegas

Feb 22nd, 2012 16 people agree 13 people don't

Positive
+ Great storyline.
+ Breaking GoldSrc engine make this mod awesome.
+ This mod is friggin scary.

Negative
- Graphics bugs.
- Game crash if playing for a long time.
- Monster look stupid when play for a long time.

Summary
This mod is awesome but need patch to fix horrible bugs.

Blood_Wraith says
9 Blood_Wraith

Feb 23rd, 2012 18 people agree 15 people don't

It's like Afraid of Monsters, but slower paced, has an inventory and dual wielding system, etc.

Also, a new coat of paint for the GoldSource engine, so the game looks pretty slick.

It has its problems here and there, but its still one of the best Half-Life mods, and one of the best horror mods in general.

D3ads says
9 D3ads

Mar 10th, 2012 6 people agree 5 people don't

Amazing accomplishment on technology many consider out of date, with Beautiful environments, imaginative original setpieces, a haunting score and menacing creatures- this is the best Half-Life mod ever made. I want to vote 9.5 but I can't and 10 is perfect (there is no such thing imho).

Full review to come at a later date...

MrSaturdayKnight says
9 MrSaturdayKnight

Mar 4th, 2012 5 people agree 4 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Ever since I discovered this mod in 08 I been a patience tracker and that patience has seriously payed off!

Cry of Fear has got to be the scariest mod on Goldsrc I played in a while. It has all horror mod fans would love. Dark atmosphere, wonderful detailed monsters, and a story that will keep guessing while watching your back for any monsters that will attack you from behind.

The main character Simon is to me very interesting since as you play as him you can tell hes been having a crappy life with the slit wrists and him getting run over by an unknown person. This is when the questions started in my head "Who was that man asking for help? Who was in the car and tried to run Simon over nearly killed him and made him a cripple?, Was that Simon slamming that guy's head into a wall?" These questions kept me thinking during the entire game. Sadly only a few questions were answered although I only gotten one ending "4".

The inventory is what some say it's like the old Resident evil game(which I never played) but it was because of that system which inspired Rumpel and I must say it's a great system. It makes it so the playing doesn't feel like Rambo in a horror game (Fear 3). Mostly in the game the player has 6 slots 1 is for your phone until a certain level where you lose your bag and it's reduce to 3 making the game tougher. Gameplay is a mix between melee and shooting since ammo is scarce you have to use a knife or a police baton.

This mod was worth waiting for and I can't wait to see the other endings and co-op. But they're were a few questions unanswered in the game. Like who tried to kill Simon, Who was that man in the intro, and who was sending Simon those messages during the blood-room parts such as "I hate you" or "I just want you to die" etc. I honestly can't wait for the next mod Team Psykskallar will make next but they deserve a break for this masterpiece of a horror mod :).

Aublak says
9 Aublak

Mar 1st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic.
Its a bit like Resident Evil in first person. The story is genuinely interesting, I actually care about Simon's well being. There's some great puzzles and the combat is an improvement over the original Half-Life. Ammo is sparse and has to be well rationed on the hard difficulty, which is what I played on.
I recommend playing Afraid of Monsters Director's Cut as well. Its just as good.

alone1992 says
9 alone1992

Jan 7th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It can be better in graphics , now its wonderful but can be super wonderful!!

Loulimi says
9 Loulimi

Dec 19th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Good mod.
Will be it possible to some big problems I have?
- Lan playing is difficult, we must use steam friendship to do that
- We can't see internet servers
- Why the 2D menu hasn't as options as the 3D one? It is confusing
- Sometimes the game crashes on multiplayer
Thanks to fix all theses problems!

Dannema says
9 Dannema

Nov 17th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Haven't played the single player campaign yet, but I've raced through almost everything that the multiplayer part offers. Awesome game, good soundtrack, okay gameplay (it's an old engine and all) and good scares. Playing with friends makes it a joy to play this, it's still scary but when you're scared together it's much more fun!

Community Rating

Average

9.3

2815 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.