Cogs is an innovative puzzle game where players build an incredible variety of machines from sliding tiles. Immersed in a steampunk world with stunning visual design, Cogs is pure eye candy. Players can choose from 50 levels and 3 gameplay modes. New puzzles are unlocked by building contraptions quickly and efficiently. - Inventor Mode: Starting with simple puzzles, players are introduced to the widgets that are used to build machines — gears, pipes, balloons, chimes, hammers, wheels, props, and more. - Time Challenge Mode: If you finish a puzzle in Inventor Mode, it will be unlocked here. This time, it will take fewer moves to reach a solution, but you only have 30 seconds to find it. - Move Challenge Mode: Take your time and plan ahead. Every click counts when you only get ten moves to find a solution.

Review RSS Feed Hayst says
8 Hayst

Jul 29th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

A fun puzzle game.

Bevel says
8 Bevel

Feb 13th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I love this game. The sound effects are very appropriate with everything clicking and cranking and ratcheting and hissing, even the menus. Later in the game most of the puzzles you complete actually do something, like turning the rotors on a flying machine, or firing up a rocketship. This makes the game much less abstract and provides a nice sense of accomplishment when you finally complete a difficult puzzle. If you like sliding-block puzzles this game is the game for you. The only downside is that you can't turn off the timer on most of the puzzles and though you don't fail for working slowly, you are penalized in score. Possibly not a downside for some people but it's worth a mention.

Jinx-Wolf says
8 Jinx-Wolf

Nov 7th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Fantastic puzzle game! I had a blast playing, but it lagged a lot on my system. I'm running Slackware 13.37.

Ferk says
8 Ferk

Aug 3rd, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Cogs is a pretty nice puzzle game. It's not as frustrating as playing those sliding puzzles (I find those really boring) because there are duplicate slices. Sometimes it does get complicated, but it's fun and practice really helps. You can learn how to manipulate pieces into going where you want them to. Using a 3x2 area you can arrange 5 tiles into any configuration you want.

Some levels have some additional pieces that make for some interesting puzzles, like the music games, where timming is important. If you like slider puzzle games, I think that you won't find a better one than this one. However, if you are very good at it, you might complete all the puzzle levels fast, but you will still get replayability if you want to earn all the stars. There are two additional game modes. I specially like the challenge mode where you have to finish the puzzle with only 10 moves.

I'm giving it a 8/10, though. Because despite it's got potential to get a 9 or perhaps even 10, I'm still not very fond of the sliding puzzles.

General_Cornwaffle says
8 General_Cornwaffle

Jun 2nd, 2014

No review provided

desolation0 says
8 desolation0

Dec 4th, 2012

No review provided

mvnascimento says
8 mvnascimento

Jul 14th, 2012

No review provided

ghost3030 says
8 ghost3030

Jul 11th, 2012

No review provided

Raggamuffin says
8 Raggamuffin

Jun 9th, 2012

No review provided

fivex84 says
8 fivex84

May 7th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.4

146 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.