Claustrophobia: The Downward Struggle is an indie RPG roguelike, with a retro graphic style and a terrible sense of humour. The game takes place in a series of ever descending randomly generated dungeon floors, packed full of monsters to slaughter and loot to pillage. The game plays like a traditional roguelike, but with a clean UI, a slick, action orientated combat system, and a massive range of enemy types, skills, gear and room designs. With features like crafting, skill trees, characters development, and just-one-more-room style gameplay, Claustrophobia is a love letter to traditional RPG rougelikes. Create your ideal hero, build your own custom class, then set out on your quest for glory, slaughter, and anything shiny!

Review RSS Feed WiseCold says
10 WiseCold

Jan 19th, 2013 8 people agree 0 people don't

One word
Addicted.

theguyswhogamesalot says
10 theguyswhogamesalot

Feb 3rd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Even though this game is in the "Alpha Funding" part of Desura, it feels as complete and fun as any other game. Anyone who enjoys dungeon exploring and raiding dungeons will LOVE this. All of the dungeons in the game are randomly generated, and no two gaming sessions are alike. Everytime I start a new game it is like a new adventure! This game is full of fun.

ddrheretic says
10 ddrheretic

Jan 22nd, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

If the dev keeps on adding material and balacing this will only get better. Awesome roguelike.

bossonova911 says
10 bossonova911

Jan 18th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

Keep updating and you boys will do just fine. Amazing game so far. :)

FlyingShisno says
10 FlyingShisno

Jan 17th, 2013 3 people agree 0 people don't

I originally wasn't going to buy this, because it reminded me of 'Hack, Slash, Loot'. But I took the plunge and it paid off big time. It reminds me of when I first picked up Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup, how everything was so fun and amazing, and so much to discover.

That feeling will wear off the more I play, but I haven't gotten that feeling since DCSS, and Claustrophobia managed to bring it back. I can tell this is a game I'll be playing for a long time.

JigxorAndy says
10 JigxorAndy

May 13th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game is incredible! I just played it for a couple of hours straight. Couldn't put it down!

blackout32 says
10 blackout32

Mar 10th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

The responsiveness of the developer alone deserves a comendation.

The game, though not complete, feels well enough fleshed out already, and will certainly only get better.

With each new update, there is a new reason to play another life. Fantastic game, as it continues to flesh out, it gets even better.

BludStanes says
10 BludStanes

Mar 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Love a good roguelike. This is a good roguelike. Nuff said.

Sayku24 says
10 Sayku24

Mar 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

funny, epic, long, contained interesting, good coherence between all elements of the game which are simple but perfect.
And it's just alpha!

damned, il love this game! continue plz ^^

ds39uuca says
10 ds39uuca

Jan 9th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good game so far, but the minimap is way too hard to see, even if set monitor to 1024x768 [no fullscreen yet, so need set monitor to that resolution for game to be fullscreen on monitor]
[minimap can now be zoomed into, so it sorta solves that problem]

ill list what i think are cons first
- There needs be a button that makes the minimap fill the wholescreen so you can see where an anvil is you passed a while ago. Since the levels are so big its hard to remember where an anvil is.
[minimap can fill whole screen, if click the map, still no buytton to do it]
- You have to use your mouse to move your character, i would prefer an option to use wasd to move character and 1 to 9 for skills, and i honestly wonder why you cant do that. [left mouse button to move, right button for action, qwety for skills]
[can move useing wsad now, but it doesnt regen health yet, i assume itll be fixed]
- No options settings yet
[is an options setting now, but isnt complete, so partail options?, i guess when it sets defualt options ill remove this con, so in a few days i guess this wont be an issue]

Pro
- Look at the feature list at top, i would agree with what it says its features are
- Its really quite fun, but would be more fun if could make the minimap fill the whole screen when needed, im not even sure if the minimap shows doors atm, its really way too small,

and if i seem to be going on about the minimap, thats becuase i cant really fualt it other that the 2 issues i listed above [since its alpha no point listing issues that are in todo list]

stuff in [] if what if altered in a patch, when it works flawlessly ill remove from con, like just need defualt settings for options and remove bug someone had about changeing audio, and ill remove the con for options

Community Rating

Average

9

133 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.