John Chaser, the game's main character, awakens on board the spaceship H.M.S. Majestic. He does not know who he is, what he's doing there, why he is being sought by men in black uniforms and what they will do to him when they find him. The player's goal in the game is to find out who Chaser really is and why he is being hunted. The story leads the player from the H.M.S. Majestic to the fictional Montack City on Earth, then on to Siberia, and finally to Mars, where the trail ends and hopefully the truth can be found.

Review RSS Feed flippedoutkyrii says
6 flippedoutkyrii

Dec 26th, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Fun and engaging, yet flawed with serious problems.

The story is detailed yet it nose-dives at the end with a disappointing and aggravating conclusion and while the levels are detailed they are at times hard to navigate.

The game is also soul-crushingly difficult. Confrontations with more then 2 men can reduce your armor and health to deadly levels if you are not quick on the draw and the overall length of the game is almost too long! Spanning a whopping 40+ levels with many of them being long-cutscenes.

The action is intense, some levels have good attention to detail, there are many weapons at disposal, the graphics are quite eye-catching for the time and the use of bullet-time is probably amongst the best I've ever seen, plus the shattering glass effect on windows is very effective, it's just the punishing difficulty, open plot holes in an already confusing story near the end, throw-away characters and some rather needless levels that go on way too long really damper my feelings toward it.

It's fun and can certainly fill your schedule for the next several days, it's just flawed :/

Najlvin says
9 Najlvin

Oct 2nd, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Chaser is best game for me. It is one of last old-school shooters with very interesting story, excelent graphics, sound and music. And this game is realy very long... 9/10 ;-)

pelleplutten says
8 pelleplutten

Feb 9th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It's hard when set to max difiiculty. Thats why I like it enough to give it an 8. Some, or actually many, of thew many levels are repetetive. The submarine level is not only repetetive, it's disorientating. Not even Descent managed to get me as queezy as Chaser did. I guess it's why I like this game: it's chanllenging and unforgiving. There's no hints or arrowa pointing out the way to go or "walk over there", "stand there" or "press that button to do that" which fills more rescent games.

Also I like the main menu style and the sound that goes with it.

Sure I'm a geezer, but the games of yesterday where a lot more interesting. Not the eye candy of today, but actually hard when played on HARD. Thus making them fun to play; making yesterday┬┤s games actually an achievemnet to complete.

TheUnbeholden says
5 TheUnbeholden

May 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's basically a very standard shooter, with some sci-fi elements in it.

+Enemies die quite easily,
+I think the storyline is pretty ok
+Fairly long at around 7-8 hours

-although some seem to take 2 bullets to the head to take down..
-auto saves are really unreliable, quicksaving all the time is necessary.
-slowmo is a nice addition problem is you can't dodge bullets, it slows everything down but problem is it also slows you just as much as everyone else.. making it useless.
If it slowed you down less than the enemies then its implementation would have made sense. Especially if its bullet time.
-no lean keys, for a realistic damage shooter this would have been nice

hogsy says
3 hogsy

Oct 7th, 2011 1 person agrees 2 people don't

The story is seriously flawed, the overall design has no consistency, the dialog is plain horrible and at times just horribly cheesy, the animations are horrific, the level design is plain and just honestly ******* horrible with no clear paths and no unique "points" which a player can recognise as reference, the AI is almost non-existant with enemies just shooting and chasing after you with no consideration for anything else and lastly the multi-player is terribly unoriginal... This is perhaps one of the worst piles of **** I've ever had the misfourtune to pay & play.

cordenand says
8 cordenand

Mar 17th, 2014

No review provided

kommandojoe says
9 kommandojoe

Oct 26th, 2013

No review provided

Atyth says
8 Atyth

Jun 29th, 2013

No review provided

luiz0regis says
6 luiz0regis

Jun 21st, 2013

No review provided

andrea89 says
7 andrea89

Jun 17th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.8

19 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.