Arguably the most well-known indie game of all time, Cave Story+ features a completely original storyline wrapped with personality, mystery and hours of fast-paced fun. Cave Story+ is an action-adventure game that is critically acclaimed indie game. Overflowing with unmatched charm and character, Cave Story+ takes you into a rare world where a curious race of innocent rabbit-like creatures, called Mimigas, run free. Run, jump, shoot, fly and explore your way through a massive action-adventure reminiscent of classic 8 and 16-bit games. Cave Story+ features higher resolutions, tons of new art and music, along with content not available in the original version.

Review RSS Feed Vargr says
10 Vargr

Nov 3rd, 2011 4 people agree 0 people don't

This game is nothing short of amazing. It has everything a platformer should have, and then some.

This is one of those games that everyone should play at least once. Truly a masterpiece.

vdrandom says
10 vdrandom

Nov 4th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

One of the most amazing games I've ever played. It has everything you might want from a platformer adventure and more: weapon leveling and customization, alternate endings and even hardcore difficulty epilogue. And it is free. So go and grab that one, you won't regret any minute of playing this game.

KIAaze says
10 KIAaze

Nov 3rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great story, adorable characters, great gameplay, great music, great art, lots of choices to make, multiple endings, innovative weapon leveling mechanic, cross-platform, free, just an overall excellent game.
I haven't played it for a while, but I can't remember anything negative to say about it, except maybe that it gets pretty hard at the end, especially if you go to "hell".
Of all the GNU/Linux games that have been coming out lately, I almost regret that this one is free, since it's easily one of the most worth paying for!

Ramzea says
10 Ramzea

Nov 3rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

This game remains one of the best action/platformers I have ever played. The graphics are simple, but coherent and beautiful. The level design is superb, giving you expansive areas to explore and rediscover once you have new abilities later in the game. The characters are unique and endearing. Each one will leave their own impression and many people may find themselves really caring for them, however strange they are. The story makes great use of this, tugging at the player's emotions in many key moments of the game. The music is well-made and matches the style of the game, being suitably retro. Controls and gameplay are absolutely perfect for a game of this type. The character moves smoothly and all of his actions are responsive. The best part of this game is that most people will need to play it two or three times to truly appreciate it. I highly recommend playing blind the first time and using a guide the second.

Techna says
10 Techna

Nov 4th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

I finished this before it came out on Desura, It will always be worthwhile to play it with all of the work that Pixel put into this. If he really wanted to, Pixel could charge for this and I'm sure we'd all buy it.

gmh_michael says
10 gmh_michael

Nov 3rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

one of the best 2d sidescrollers ever. sorry for being so broad but cave story has a wonderfull mix of music and gameplay thats truly original even though its inspired by multiple games. if anyone ask me what's my favorite game it'll allways be cave story.

Ouren says
10 Ouren

Nov 3rd, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

11/10

HungerSTGF says
10 HungerSTGF

May 3rd, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Brilliant Metroidvania game with sleek-looking 8-bit art style, it's just absolutely lovable in every way.

rioninja says
10 rioninja

Nov 2nd, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is one of my favorite games. There is an amazing variety of enemies and weapons, and it's just plain fun to play. The control takes a little getting used to at first (it's a bit floaty), but you'll get used it it quickly. I recommend everyone giving this a shot. Make sure you play it for at least 20 minutes, at you'll be hooked.

Zorota says
10 Zorota

Dec 2nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

A perfect game, with perfect elements, a wonderful story and that gorgeous graphics.

Community Rating

Average

9.5

312 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.