Call of Duty®: World at War completely changes the rules of engagement by redefining WWII gaming and thrusting players into the final tension-filled, unforgiving battles against a new ferocious enemy in the most dangerous and suspenseful action ever seen in WWII.

Review RSS Feed Kastrenzo says
8 Kastrenzo

Jul 27th, 2011 5 people agree 1 person doesn't
This review may contain spoilers

One of the few Call of duty games I actually loved. It brought out the grim and brutal nature of World War II, had two diverse campaigns, and most of the weapons felt satisfying.

NO I DONT GIVE A **** ABOUT NAZI ZOMBIES

ComradeInfallible says
8 ComradeInfallible

Sep 19th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the better recent Call of Duties, and one of the few I truly enjoyed. Very dark, gritty, and depressing. Just my style.

SourHyperion1 says
8 SourHyperion1

Jun 25th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

Call of Duty World At War, a return to classic Call of Duty... Or is it?

Campaign: The campaign immerses the player in an American soldier fighting in the grim Pacific Theater and a Russian soldier fighting in the battle to take revenge on Germany for invading their country. I have to say, most of the American campaign was very forgettable. Some of the Russian campaign was, too, but it was more interesting, in my opinion. They both did capture the grim reality of World War 2, though. I give it an 8/10.
Gameplay: For the most part, it was great. The AI was sort of intelligent, but still wasn't great like when my fellow soldiers constantly run into the line of fire. Multiplayer is alright, but it's not the best. It is fun for when you are bored. I give the gameplay a 7/10.
Multiplayer: World at War brings the Call of Duty multiplayer back to World War 2... and I don't like it. For one, it doesn't have that same faced paced multiplayer that you can play to earn weapons and perks. I just didn't enjoy this as much and the servers are just ridiculous. I've seen servers saying you can't use your perks and such. I earned them, but I can't use them because it may give me an advantage? The Co-op redeems that mess, thankfully. All in all, I give the multiplayer a 8/10.
Nazi Zombies: World at War brought in something new and wildly popular that spread like a wildfire, Nazi Zombies. A fun and difficult survival game. It just isn't fun to play Solo after a while, though. Not to mention how few levels there are. I recommend playing this with at least one other person. I give it a 9/10.
Graphics: They are beautiful. I've seen better, but they are incredible. The gore adds to the atmosphere and the level of detail is exquisite. I give them a 10/10.

Summary:
For those of us who joined the series in the beginning, it's nostalgia in a box. For the rest of you, it's a fun and entertaining game I would recommend to any FPS fan. I give it an 8.4/10

nikolai13 says
8 nikolai13

Jan 24th, 2012 0 people agree 2 people don't

My favourite WW2 game to start off with!

Game was used by one of the best shooters in 2007/8 (Call of duty 4), the storyline is amazing, brings a bit of true facts of WW2 which makes it fun :D

The nazi zombies was EXTREMELY fun, lasted me for hours playing that, however better animations for zombies though

The multiplayer is amazing as well, however it copies the Call of duty 4 game play ALOT but that doesn't make it bad, it just brings the awesomeness of MW to WW2

adamdaiva says
8 adamdaiva

Sep 25th, 2013

No review provided

stam_88 says
8 stam_88

Jul 20th, 2013

No review provided

BromUndbintr says
8 BromUndbintr

Apr 15th, 2013

No review provided

DarkDude88 says
8 DarkDude88

Dec 8th, 2011

No review provided

koldsoul says
8 koldsoul

Mar 19th, 2011

No review provided

Jevuner says
8 Jevuner

Oct 31st, 2010

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.5

182 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.