The new action-thriller from the award-winning team at Infinity Ward delivers the most intense and cinematic action experience ever. Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare arms gamers with an arsenal of advanced and powerful modern day firepower and transports them to the most treacherous hotspots around the globe to take on a rogue enemy group threatening the world.

Review RSS Feed Kastrenzo says
7 Kastrenzo

Jul 27th, 2011 19 people agree 3 people don't

I liked this game when it first came out, but it eventually spawned 99.9% of the morons who made MW2 their own personal middleschool religion.

And strangley I found MW2 To play a lot smoother than this, MW2 drew it's weapon damage and such off World at War, sometimes in COD4 I Couldnt even tell when I hit someone.

Also stop ******* hating on Russians. I was happy to see DC Burning in MW2, But oh no Captain America and Nigel the Chav save the day in the end.

Call of Duty 4 spawned a generation that's Braindead and Racist

also even more so, 13 year olds started talking about guns to the point that it was annoying. most of the time it was stuff they never heard of in their life until they saw it on Xbawks

ZoneLurker says
7 ZoneLurker

Sep 1st, 2012 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I know it'll be a shocker for some fanboys that I only give a 7/10 to "TEH GREATEST GAME EVAH!!" but let me just say that it is rather fun. However, there's no denying it will go down as one of the most overrated games I have ever played. Therefore, I will break down the review to separate points.

GAMEPLAY: The most distinguishing feature in video gaming - it's fun, it's polished, but it's nothing new. From the single-player, you are still led by the nose in often tightly linear pathways, shooting and killing with very little found variety. As for the multiplayer being innovative, well... Perks and customisation and (these) modes have existed long before this game, so it's hard to see what's really new here. That's not to say none of this works, and some of the levels and scripted set-pieces are impressive and enjoyable. It's just not deep or creative enough to deserve such acclaim.

GRAPHICS: Very, very pretty and runs smoothly. However, some textures are deeply lacking. Overall beautiful, but far from the best of 2007.

STORY: This really grinds my gears. Really, what is so special about this story? All I see is Middle East in turmoil, stolen nuclear weapons, evil Russian Communists, Good ol' USA stepping in as usual to clean up the mess... blah, blah, blah. The only notable features is the unique emphasis on the SAS, and the Nuclear Explosion scene, but otherwise nothing else memorable about the plot.

SOUND: Probably the most redeemable element. The music score is simply excellent, fitting each moment throughout the campaign perfectly. The voice-acting, while not quite at the same level, has some good voices. The guns, on the other hand, sound more like toys rather than sophisticated weaponry which further ruins the quality of the action.

Overall, COD4 is a fun game with addictive multiplayer and some excellent missions. At a cheap price, it's worth a purchase. Nevertheless, it stands as a prime example where hype spoils a game's quality.

LegionIscariot says
7 LegionIscariot

Jul 3rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

I had more fun playing Call of Duty 1 and 2. The weapons and combat were more fun. I also felt more freedom, i didnt feel forced to follow my squad, and my squad didnt take all the kills i these tight areas, there was enough to go around with the open space. If felt good.

It was hard to connect with the characters, especially the main character. The only people i remember are Soap and Gaz.

I dont like controlling multiple characters in one campaign.
I would have preferred 2 full campaigns, one where you only control Soap and one where you only control Paul. No switching back and forth.

Gameplay is fine. This is the only time that i was OK with the 2 gun limit. However the gameplay doesnt vary much, mostly shooting, and a little bit of areal assault, and a sniper mission.

Linear. You can jump over somethings but then the game prevents you from jumping over other things.

I did like how smooth it plays.

I found the game to be too short though, im talking singleplayer campaign.

Overall a good game.

zombiekiller332 says
7 zombiekiller332

Apr 21st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

most EPIC GAME EVAR, I just ask that if you add Multiplayer on

poshgaloo says
7 poshgaloo

Jun 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Okay. Just like the campaign that's all.

Morelianos_attacks says
7 Morelianos_attacks

Oct 16th, 2010 0 people agree 0 people don't

There is many things this game shows and I hate. The typical rivalry between US and Middle East countries + Russia (though there are some russian allies), massacres and nuclear explosions, chauvinists dickheads recluted for this kind of conflicts, a country indirectly invited to this US party (England), and the list goes on... but after all, this is how war is. The sad international reality of the US in permanent conflict with Middle East and old enemies of the Cold War is just that, the reality, and it will be in a long-term.

As for the game itself, I have to say that I've played MW2 before COD4, so the plot for me left me with many questions. But paradoxically this aspects was the more engaging for me. The dramatic and despairing scenes of the game suggested the crude reality of the war, and the plot was a crucial thing to support this (not considering the details of the tactical and military operation, but the shocking events for the characters). Except for what I remark, the rest of the plot is very usual and don't have nothing new to show.

The gameplay is something I always remark of all the COD saga, but comparing with the previous ones, COD4 has nothing new for us except for some weapons and tools (the fetish of the 12 years old community of this game). I don't care too much about it but undeniably there are plenty of weapons to try on your enemies. Although there are different missions and every one has its difficulty and degree of tension, the gameplay becomes boring reaching to the end of the game.
As for the difficulty, I have mixed feelings: just like the previous CODs you should never play on recruit (seriously is for noobs), but veteran is painfully frustrating when you repeat a part many times.

The environment was ok for me. The landscape is not my favourite, but goes along well with the game, nicely detailed. The music also was very fitting with the mood of the story. It's not a bad game, but players should be careful to no become a childish ****.

Juffe says
7 Juffe

Nov 22nd, 2009 0 people agree 0 people don't

average cod.

Xenotoxic says
7 Xenotoxic

Jul 18th, 2014

No review provided

Nikolai_Svyslotskiy says
7 Nikolai_Svyslotskiy

Jul 1st, 2014

No review provided

Sanega says
7 Sanega

Feb 21st, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.9

686 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.