Braid is a puzzle-platformer, drawn in a painterly style, where you can manipulate the flow of time in strange and unusual ways. From a house in the city, journey to a series of worlds and solve puzzles to rescue an abducted princess. In each world, you have a different power to affect the way time behaves, and it is time's strangeness that creates the puzzles.

Review RSS Feed Quogu says
10 Quogu

Dec 23rd, 2010 9 people agree 0 people don't

It would be very difficult to adequately put into words how much I enjoyed Braid. It has, without a doubt, left a lasting impact on what I expect from indie games, raising my expectations to a level that only a handful of other games can possibly complete with.

In terms of gameplay, Braid is original, refreshing and clever to the point where I was stuck for a good half hour in places and, I am ashamed to say, had to resort to a guide to finish certain levels. Some of the puzzles are fiendishly difficult, but the solution in hindsight seems so obvious, and all make excellent use of the game's time manipulation mechanic. The variations of the different worlds keep things fresh to the point where my miniscule attention span was never exhausted. I was engrossed, and were it not for the fact that I could not for the life of me beat one or two of the puzzles, I would have happily devoured the whole game in one setting without so much as moving an inch. I can literally count on one hand the number of games that have achieved such a feat.

The art is beautiful, the music fits the tone of the experience perfectly, the story is clever and thought provoking, and the game has more to it than meets the eye - I suspect that very few players will have seen all that Braid has to offer. There is plenty of challenge, especially the 45 minute full speed run of the game, which, of course, I had to have the trophy for (I was playing on PS3).

The only slight imperfection that Braid has is that, as with all games that truly connect on some sort of emotional level with the player, there is little replay value. After your initial phase of playing the game, it seems almost wrong to go back and play it again, because I know that I will never have the same sort of experience with the game as I did the first time. Nonetheless, Braid is a magical, enchanting, wonderful game that deserves to be played by everyone who claims to be a 'gamer', and is well worth every penny of the asking price.

selfprofessedgeek says
10 selfprofessedgeek

Feb 26th, 2011 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

The art design on this is stunning. Definitely a must have.

David_Rose says
10 David_Rose

Jul 4th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I don't give out very many 10/10 scores but this is one of the most well thought out, and most beautiful puzzle games that I have ever played. The challenges ramp up in difficulty at a nice steady pace, some of which become mind boggling. In fact, there was one in particular that, if I had not cheated and watched a video on youtube, I never would have beat the game. But along with that challenge comes the immense satisfaction when you finally figure out how to complete the puzzle. And the beautiful art style and music keep you entertained even when the puzzle makes you want to pull your hair out. Add in a somewhat cryptic story and some subtle (and not so subtle) references to pop culture, and you have a recipe for a great game. If for some reason you haven't already played Braid, buy it.

rettichschnidi says
10 rettichschnidi

Nov 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Until today, this is the best game I had the joy to play.

Mdyter says
10 Mdyter

Apr 1st, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

If every indie game would be such innovative and beautiful as Bride is, there wouldn't be anything to love so much in an indie game.
Bride indeed has a fantastic universe . Drive into it and you'll be hooked for a long time.

Looking forward for the next game made by the same developers - The Witness

brisingre says
10 brisingre

Dec 17th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

One of the best puzzle games I've ever played. Difficult, mind blowing, consistently interesting, varied... I love Braid. Not for everybody, though. There are vast numbers of gamers who will not be able to play Braid at all, and many more who just won't enjoy it. Still, 10/10 for me.

Stanegor says
10 Stanegor

Nov 30th, 2010 3 people agree 2 people don't

Awesome

blosomax says
10 blosomax

Jan 25th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Best game I've played in years!
Combines puzzle solving with action, AWESOME sound and graphics.
Very unique and never mountainous.

jorgeartware says
10 jorgeartware

Dec 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Besides the awesome original features, the great puzzles and the funkstalgic references to good ol' games, I believe games like Braid bring to the table, something that's been missing or at least there's not enough of it.
There's something beyond my rational comprehension about it, I just can't put my finger on it, and that's the whole point.
This is a game that stayed with me, not only in my mind, and I don't think it will ever go away. Just like a great piece of art.

snake4851 says
10 snake4851

Sep 6th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Absolutely amazing! One of the best indie games out there.

Community Rating

Average

9.2

496 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.