BioShock is a shooter unlike any you've ever played, loaded with weapons and tactics never seen. You'll have a complete arsenal at your disposal from simple revolvers to grenade launchers and chemical throwers, but you'll also be forced to genetically modify your DNA to create an even more deadly weapon: you. Injectable plasmids give you super human powers: blast electrical currents into water to electrocute multiple enemies, or freeze them solid and obliterate them with the swing of a wrench.

Review RSS Feed newnowmusic says
10 newnowmusic

Feb 27th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

What can I say baout Bioshock that has not already been said before.
This is a new ball park in fps, cerebral and introspective, it captures not only the Randian ideal of Objectivism in beautiful counterpoint to 'Atlas Shrugged' but the underlying nature of the role of the gamer itself.
The lush decay of the city of Rapture provide the player with a new and intersting environment of which one has very real choice to mould and shape, whether in hacking the various machinery placed around or using character enhancing 'plasmids' to freeze, burn or electrocute puddles, barrels and oil spills.
This game is all about the story, Rapture is a rich world with characters of depth and intigue, most of whom are discovered through surviving audio diaries. If you want the most from this game and want to understand the world or Andrew Ryan and Rapture then I suggest you search high and low to get the full story.
Beyond the myriad of characters there is a shrewd sense of self-discovery as you play the silent protagonist Jack. the more you learn about Rapture the more it coincides with your fortuitous arrival in the crumbling underwater city.
The psudeo-antagonist of Anrew Ryan is one of the best written characters ever formed in gaming in terms of his overall and underlying ties to everything you know about the world and yourself, and finally metting him ingame is one of the quinticential gaming moments.
Written with a flair that surpasses the most cerebral hollywood fayre, Bioshock, on a very subtle level takes on the very notion of choice in gaming. Are we free to do as we like in these digital environments or do we simply follow instruction?
All in all this game, along with a few others of note, has set the bar in terms of what we can now call a 'good game'.
It is mature, intelligent and crafted with all the artistry you could expect from a David Lynch film, while activley taking on the philosophies of choice and determinism.

Vorsnal says
10 Vorsnal

May 30th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Best game ever.

ytres says
10 ytres

Feb 7th, 2010 2 people agree 0 people don't

Amazing game.

Theevina says
10 Theevina

Nov 28th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This game surprised me. It turned out much better than I thought it would be from first looks. It was just bursting with color and originality around every corner. The art and story were outstanding. The weapons and hacking systems were elaborate and a bit unnecessary for the simple combat of a single player RPG; however, even if I didn't use 95% of it, it was fun to collect those powers. On the character of Andrew Ryan, he was interesting. On the second play through I think I understood him better.

Now for the negative points: I didn't feel comfortable with the controls and movement in the Unreal Engine but that's not very important and it didn't affect my enjoyment. I found it difficult to find places in those maze-like halls. When listening to recorded messages they would often be interrupted by another character or shut out by other loud noises. I probably didn't hear the whole story which made some points confusing. The splicers got really old really fast, especially annoying after the place where Jack discovers who Atlas really is. Hoards of them came screaming out of nowhere and surrounded me while I fire at random past the smoke and flames they were throwing at me. I only died a few times in total but it *felt* really hard. Overall the combat was not so good but just okay. (Maybe some of that is also part of my difficulty with navigation.) The little sister guiding you to the end said "Don't be a slowpoke, Mr. Bubbles" about every ten seconds even though I was way ahead of her while she lagged behind going a snail's pace unknowingly surrounded by psychos trying to kill her. This provided some unwanted tension right before the final battle. The "good" ending that I got felt a little too abrupt.

Overall this is a great game that excelled in many areas, although with some flaws. All that matters is that it was immersive and fun, in fact, the best fun I had in a while, and that earns it a 10.

rtp|TheDA says
10 rtp|TheDA

Nov 12th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Bioshock is one of the best games ever. A truly excellent one player FPS experience. Right from the very start the game impresses and is exciting and tense. The game looks gorgeous, amazing graphics and a distinctive art style. The story is very good and holds your attention to the end. The switching between plasmid powers and guns enables many different ways to kill your enemies. You also get to customize your characters powers. The game has superb voice acting, Atlas is very well done. Bioshock is one of my favourite ever games. I rarely ever give a game a 10/10 but this game deserves it.

SpammingTanks says
10 SpammingTanks

Nov 8th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Recommended if you are a FPS fan. Great game environment and style... this is one of those games that sets itself apart from the crowd.

Also, don't read up on the story before playing. If at all possible, go into this game blind to the plot.

CaptainSkullsaber says
10 CaptainSkullsaber

Sep 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

of course I gave it a 10...It is a pretty amazing game

DarkShift says
10 DarkShift

Oct 25th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The second milestone of FPS in the 00's after Half-Life 2.

Andrew Ryan forever!

Jayden.H says
10 Jayden.H

Sep 26th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

The games graphics are very good, superb texturing I can see.

The game itself was no let down either, I very much appreciated the old fashioned theme going on, aswell as all the genetic/sci-fi drama that has occured here.

GREAT GAME.
GREAT GAMEPLAY.
AWESOME GRAPHICS.
NEAT COMPOSITION.

Dr.LAG says
10 Dr.LAG

Sep 22nd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

Great and Ceepy very very disturbing! Love it with steampunkness and really well did with 60's style For me best insane horror fps game!

Community Rating

Average

9.1

186 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.