A.R.E.S.: Extinction Agenda is the first chapter in a fully-featured episodic hardcore action packed side-scrolling platformer series. Set in a traditional retro-classic scenario, you play as Ares, a combat robot created for the sole purpose of saving humanity. Can you live up to the task or will you be reduced to nuts and bolts?

Review RSS Feed MaxHayman says
8 MaxHayman

Dec 25th, 2010 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Nice game, fun. But its not really my type. i can see why some people may enjoy it though!

TheJayOfSpade says
8 TheJayOfSpade

Sep 15th, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

A very fun game that uses the mouse and keyboard approach very well. It has a MegaMan meets Contra feel and it plays very well.

Alphaprospector says
8 Alphaprospector

Dec 5th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

Quite a solid plataformer! Unexpectedly nice and overall very, very polished but still not without its flaws: the platforming sections suffer a lot from the terrible jump controls, the dashing requires you to crouch instead of having an independent button and some jumping sections will surely crank your nerves. However, it has some of the best music I've heard in a while for a western release (along with Jamestown) and the challenge is there: unlocking the Genesis Suit is not an easy task! It's all about perfecting the stages so, regarding that, it feels like a shmup at times.

On the technical side, the game is pretty much built with the 360 in mind. Aiming is actually much easier with the mouse though but the plataforming is already bad enough with a pad... and it becomes a nightmare with the keyboard.

While I admit I got it during the Indie Royale, it's still a game worth its full price, that's for sure. You can tell the Metroidesque and the definite Megaman influences both in the dashing, shooting and the music, courtesy of the great HyperDuck guys.

QuixoticRocket says
8 QuixoticRocket

Nov 14th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

A real run and gun blast of a platformer.
Looks good and plays smoothly, tight and responsive.

DerBri says
8 DerBri

Nov 4th, 2011 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a nice Shoot 'em Up/Jump & Run sidescroller, but I found some of the (boss) fights somewhat unfair, but still easy to handle (if that makes sense?) in contrast to hard and challenging, but fair.
Apart from that, the only other complaint I have is that it was too short, which actually means that I enjoyed the game a lot.

Zerathos says
8 Zerathos

Sep 11th, 2013

No review provided

sCinix says
8 sCinix

Oct 12th, 2012

No review provided

grynn says
8 grynn

Apr 7th, 2012

No review provided

Jami84 says
8 Jami84

Mar 15th, 2012

No review provided

woko says
8 woko

Jan 8th, 2012

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

7.7

68 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.