The Swine are Rising! In 2010 Frictional Games terrified the world with the cult horror Amnesia: A Dark Descent. Now they bring you a new nightmare. Created by The Chinese Room, the studio behind Dear Esther, Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is an intense and terrifying journey into the heart of darkness that lurks within us all. The year is 1899. Wealthy industrialist Oswald Mandus awakes in his bed, wracked with fever and haunted by dreams of a dark and hellish engine. Tortured by visions of a disastrous expedition to Mexico, broken on the failing dreams of an industrial utopia, wracked with guilt and tropical disease, he wakes into a nightmare. The house is silent, the ground beneath him shaking at the will of some infernal machine: all he knows is that his children are in grave peril, and it is up to him to save them. Step back into the horror.

Review RSS Feed Kasumi-G says
7 Kasumi-G

Sep 11th, 2013 5 people agree 1 person doesn't

I enjoyed this game quite a lot. I personally think that handing this to thechineseroom was not too much of the greatest idea, rather, Frictional Games should have done all the work, ALL, and they should have said NO DON'T DO THAT! AND THAT! BAD BAD! Removing elements (Yes I'M GONNA BRAG ABOUT IT BALHBVALH, I'LL TELL YOU WHY:) such as the sanity was something TDD was special for, because it created tension, and so did running out of oil, and what the hell am I gonna do with my life after it depletes, or what if I pass out next to that monster and he sees me and comes towards me then I just shut the computer off instantly, go to my bed and weep and cry ALONE AND FEEL MISERA-....*AHEM*.... that kind of tension is truly important, at least to me, and what created The Dark Descent a true horror game, because you wouldn't know what to do in that situation, you'd just panic and feel uneasy.

Thou the staggering amount of effort given in this game, and the interesting story kept me going and going. As suppose to the first one, the sound effects are very well done and much more vibrant, and I could say a little about how the game looks, as I felt it was a slight improvement, but that's it. I felt like I was still apart of the game, and not what some people say "a walking narrator". I am easily scared, VERY easily, so the monsters did their job just fine, and so did the lights flickering as the monsters got near and I panicked and cried and screamed for my life. So in a way the fear also kept me going as well and it scared me just fine. The atmosphere was just brilliant, and BRILLIANTLY brilliant!

In the end, I enjoyed it, and had fun, and cried in fear. Thou comparing this to our predecessor, The Dark Descent, it falls and doesn't deliver the same fear and tension, and could have been MUCH much better.

Jerejoe says
7 Jerejoe

Sep 14th, 2013 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I enjoyed this game, I really did! But to me it seemed like they went for a Bioshock type story line. The whole time I played the game I felt like it was reminding me of another video game, that was not amnesia the dark decent, and it was Bioshock. The game sort of guides you through everything where as in the first one it felt as if you were on your own. I still enjoyed the game, don't get me wrong. I just felt as if it sort of tried too hard for this epic plot twisting story line which in the end was, sadly, predictable and kind of short. The game did get me a few times with some scares but most of the time I felt safe, not crapping my pants, and just relaxed like I could run along. Even with the "big boss" at the end I did not feel that threatened by him because he just walked and couldn't even break down stuff. Hope you guys let there be custom stories in this one soon, that would be awesome cause I love seeing all the creativity from indie developers with your games!

alldatcheese says
7 alldatcheese

Feb 1st, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Good, but it doesn't feel like Amnesia.

RadioactiveRunner says
7 RadioactiveRunner

Jun 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

"A Machine for Pigs" is a really coolio game which drags players into a darkened world full of horrors that wait inside the hallways. But since it betrays the purpose of Amnesia (no sanity, no oil or laudanum, no tinderboxes) I really couldn't get the Amnesia experience like I did with The Dark Descent.

But still it manages to be amazing enough to get a 7/10. :)

Alex_Taylor says
7 Alex_Taylor

Nov 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

It wasn't as good as the first game, and in my opinion here's why:

The wasn't much of a variation in this game - no hubs or stopping points, either, like TDD (a hub as in after you escape the Archive Tunnels (the water monster chase scene), or after the Prison areas), and the game mainly focused on the story - there was no where else you could go, and nothing else to do except to just keep on walking. Plus, the environments kind of repeated themselves a bit. In TDD, there was a whole range of environments - the Prison, Laboratory, Wine Cellar, Refinery, Machine Room, Cistern, Sewer, Morgue, Chancel, Choir, Transept. These are just a few of the environments!

But don't get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoyed this game - the music was beautiful (and intense at relevant times), the voice acting was brilliant and the graphics were good as well.

But again with the variation - only one or two monsters? TDD had 4 in total, (including the Justine DLC Suitor) and were all equally terrifying - however I'm not really scared of pigs (most people aren't), so I guess it must've been fairly difficult to make them scary.

And the story? It wasn't the best. A man looking for his children, only to find out they died (which I thought was pretty obvious from the beginning, I mean, where did they suddenly vanish to, why could we mainly hear them, not see them, etc).

Overall, it was an atmospheric gem, but not perfect. No game is perfect. However I would recommend you to buy this, you wont regret it. :)

coldcorveh says
7 coldcorveh

Oct 25th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't
This review may contain spoilers

The story was excellent. It was lightly predictable but still very well written, answering most of the questions you had during gameplay. The visuals were eerie and at times down right scary. The ability to view the monster up close at times gave away some of the terror when dealing with them. In the dark descent, never really being able to see an upclose shot of the monster, without having your face torn off, made him all the more terrifying. These monsters were almost cartoonish and lacking. The monsters were never really a threat and the scare factor of taking every turn carefully like in the dark descent was nullified. You could walk through this game and know that 99% of the time you were safe. The Tesla pig was almost laughable and a non factor for any time of boss in this game.

I didn't enjoy the fact that this game was so sort. The linear design of the gameplay gave no challenge. Add to the fact that there aren't any free item interaction, it made it as though once you could pick something up, you knew it was a piece to a puzzle.

Sanity, Health, and inventory gave the dark descent a much better feel than AMFP.

All in all, this game deserves a 7 out of 10 for the hope that the DLC and mods are better than the actual game. Amnesia: A machine for pigs seemed like a well done MOD to Amnesia: The Dark Descent then a sequel.

AudioGhostX says
7 AudioGhostX

Oct 13th, 2013 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

It was an alright game, personally I wouldn't consider it a full sequel, but more of a spin-off type game.

Rakez68 says
7 Rakez68

Oct 11th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Big disappointment. I miss the looting and original amnesia style. You cant even grab any objects and throw them and such, which takes a big part away from the gameplay. I'm not afraid of running out of oil aswell as im not afraid of going insane. The game was too easy and there were no complicated puzzles, they were extremely easy. it also felt really linear at some parts. And it was not scary. It had a pretty good story to it though, and believe that the developers wanted to give us an epic story instead of scary experience. Everybodys got their own opinions, but I'm really disappointed. Especially with the fact that you cant play custom stories in this game. I'm still gonna give it a 7 because of the story, something to cheer about atleast.

HenryT77 says
7 HenryT77

Sep 23rd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

20% of adventure game with easy puzzles to solve.
40% of action game - running and hiding
40% of walking cause areas are vaste.
I am little bit disapointed. There is a few brillant moments (like London invaded by pig-men) but most of game is just boooring.
It's not about enemies or similar but because of lack of interesting puzzles. One of my friends called this game "simulator of walking". And yes, she was right. Sad.
Anyway iy's good game bacause of story and voice-acting. Also mood is sometimes awesome.

TheUnbeholden says
7 TheUnbeholden

Sep 18th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

It borrows elements from Amnesia and Dear Esther but manages not to attain a fraction of the brilliance of either. It doesn't have the gameplay that made Amnesia great. I'm not talking about the lack of a sanity meter (which felt contrived anyway) or the infinite oil lamp, but rather no interactivity/exploring or running/hiding. Inventory is gone and naturally there wasn’t a single difficult puzzle – barely anything that could be called a puzzle at all. Putting gears into the engine when they are right next to the engine, for example. Or flicking switches at random to make things explode. This seemed like a wasted opportunity, especially as this engine does puzzles so well.

And it felt as if a chapter was missing – surely there should have been more made of a level in the actual slaughterhouse where pigs are being killed/gore everywhere/carcasses on hooks etc? I was dreading this for the whole game and it never really happened. Then the pig rampage also seemed anticlimactic.

+Story. The central theme/philosophy however was a bit heavy handed.
+Music
+It seems to understand what made Silent Hill 2 great. The character study of a damaged mind, whom you can relate to, care about. Empathize as things progressively become more hopeless. Its atmosphere is no where near as oppressive as Silents hill's though..

-Very few scares, or times where you face a monster, you don't feel motivated to continue on. Your life has to be under-threat for you to care. I thought this was supposed to be horror.
-Easy. No difficult puzzles. Very few chase scenes. You can count them on one hand.
-Lack of interactivity, for some reason the vast majority of objects are not interactable. I'm not just talking about the child proofed draws/cupboards but just normal objects that look like they can be picked up, can't be.

-That horrible giant room with lots of dead pigs, guts sprawled everywhere slaughterhouse... never came.
-Shorter than expected... 5-6 hours for a slow playthrough.

Community Rating

Average

8

222 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.