Forum Thread
Poll: Cry Engine 3 0r UDK ?? (1,319 votes)
UDK 'or' Cry Engine 3 Which is BETTER for a complete Beginner (Forums : Suggestions : UDK 'or' Cry Engine 3 Which is BETTER for a complete Beginner) Locked
Thread Options
mishant
mishant Pwner by Birth
Jan 31 2012 Anchor

I am some what Completely new to the whole game development scene.... And i found out that these two are the best free options available
i read that UDK requires learning a completely new scripting language ....is it the same case with CryEngine 3 also ???
Also will my knowledge of C++ , VB.Net & Lua Will be of any use ??

Edited by: mishant

--

I Was born a Original ,
Wont die a Copy

Arxae
Arxae Resident Stepmania Freak :D
Jan 31 2012 Anchor

UDK uses unrealscript. CryEngine uses Lua/C++/Visual Scripting (depending on what part you are working on)

Maps are usually scripted with flowchart (visual scripting language) but it is REALLY extensive. If you are clever with it, you can make an entire new game out of it.
More complex entities and such are done with Lua
Engine functionality us done with C++

Don't have much experience with unrealscript. but setting it up was the hardest :p so scripting itself is basically learn the syntax (not hard) and learn the api (which you have to do with any new api anyway)
So it goes from easy to hard, just depends on what you want to do with it.
UDK also has a visual scripting tool for maps (the name of it escapes me for a minute here) but its generally only usefull for map stuff as far as i know (please correct me if i'm wrong on this :p)

but they are both free, so why not give both a spin? :D check my profile, i still have some tutorials for crysis, the basiscs should apply to cryengine 3 too normally :)

--

°w°

Jan 31 2012 Anchor

Have a course at university.
We did a little UDK, Unity3D, Blender GE, Vision and next Monday we will do some Cry.
From what I heard UDK is much easier to program for because of much better documentation and community.