Forum Thread
Half-Life 1 Modding (Forums : General Banter : Half-Life 1 Modding) Locked
Thread Options
Mar 28 2016 Anchor

I'm making a Half-Life 1 mod and I was wondering if I could transfer weapons from Team Fortress Classic/Opposing Force to Half-Life. Also if I could change the texture of the arms that would be cool. Note: I'm a noob to modding so I'm going to need detailed descriptions or at least links to tutorials

Mar 28 2016 Anchor

Well, you could mod using the SoHL engine Moddb.com . It has all the weapons from all GoldSrc games. Also, you could check this site out for tutorials Twhl.info and this for tutorials and skins/weapons etc. Hl.gamebanana.com . The TWHL members are very helpful and you could ask also there for any help :) . I also found this thread there, the poster of which is asking the exact same question as you. Check it out Twhl.info .

I hope I was of help. Good luck with your project! It's always nice seeing someone new creating a GoldSrc mod :) .

--

Creator of the Half Life 1 mod Deflections.

Half Life D3

Mar 28 2016 Anchor

Thank you. This is my first mod and I appreciate all the help I can get.

Wow I just read the question and it's very similar to what I'm doing. I'm also basing parts of my mod around cut content.

I downloaded the SoHL and it's a text document. What do I do now?

Lust
Lust An idea can't be killed.
Mar 30 2016 Anchor

So you want to be a hl modder eh? As previously mentioned there are tons of tutorials.

Know the programs used-

Valve Hammer Editor - Map/Level Design

Milkshake, Maya3D, Photoshop - Character/Model Design

Half Life Sprite Wizard - 2D Animation

Goldwave, Sony ACID - Sound Editing/Design

Those are just the basics anyways. Couldn't tell you much about coding other than you can probably use something like Notepad++.

A bunch of sites I use to reference are now down, but should you need any help feel free to shoot me a PM and I'll see if I can get you pointed in the right direction.

--

David=/=Dave