Unity is a multiplatform game development tool, designed from the start to ease creation. A fully integrated professional application, Unity just happens to contain the most powerful engine this side of a million dollars.

Review RSS Feed ArcadiaDivine says
7 ArcadiaDivine

Dec 16th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

Very user friendly but the lack of a good built-in GUI and solid terrain editing features hurt this engine. I often times find myself considering purchasing add-ons to mske the engine better even though I don't think I should have to.

dongiboy2000 says
7 dongiboy2000

Sep 21st, 2011 6 people agree 4 people don't

The advantages of Unity are:
+You can build for nearly all major plattforms
+Easy to learn
+Great assets pipeline, which supports most 3D packages
+Great and helpful community and hundreds of useful tutorials
+Good documentation
+A big fund as backbone. So this engine will be further developed and getting better
+one of the most optimized mobile engines

So why I give only 7 out of 10?

Well, Unity has unfortunately some really weak points:

-Basic version is free. But if you serious about game development, you will neet to purchase at least the $1500 pro license. Add $1500 for iPhone pro license and a additional $1500 for Android pro license as well. To be fair there are also a cheaper iphone and android licenses. But the crucial features are not included. In my humble opinion, this is pretty pricey for an indie developer on tight budget. The xbox and ps3 license is pretty pricey as well. I know it. But the price is not disclosed.

-no source code by default. That need to be purchased extra and is really expensive.
-dated terrain editor.
-no HDR or gamma correction at the moment.
-weak cloth simulation and no real softbodies.
-no RNM lightmaps at the moment.
-still DX9
-primitive real time shadow maps.
-no fluid physics
-old school tree editor
- No linux support. They are thousands of Linux users who request Linux support on UT's feedback site. There are over 8000 votes for this feature which is ranked #1. But Unity did not even consider it yet. They are too busy to implement promotionally effective features like water shader, and DOF to let it look like UDK or Cry.

Unity is a Jack of all trades, master of none IMO.
If you want to develop for mobile devices and have $4500 lying around, go for it. Otherwise look for some alternatives such as UDK, C4, Cry, BGE

Explov3r says
7 Explov3r

Jan 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Not bad...

Binakot says
7 Binakot

May 14th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Hello everyone. My name is Ivan BiN@KoT Muratov. At the moment Im programmer in AR team. After Reset™ – a classic sci-fi role-playing open world game with old school top view. (www.indiedb.com/games/after-reset).

As you know we chose the Unity engine for this project. And I'll try to put the evaluation in terms of a person who works on this engine. I would not rate it in terms of declared capacity of the engine. And so they all know and can read on the official site of Unity technologies. I will try to highlight the most important features of this software on my point of view.

1. One User Per License. You must purchase a license for each individual using Unity Pro and any other paid Unity products.
2. Do not forget that the individual platform and team license purchased at an additional price.
Therefore, the apparent cheapness of the Unity engine is just an illusion.
3. The Unity technologies increasingly evolving towards mobile platforms. The use of the engine for the standalone projects isn’t very popular.
4. Engine with closed source. Developers limited only by the fact that the Unity technologies realized.
5. The scripting language engine. It is possible to write scripts in 3 languages: C#, JS, Boo. There is the possibility of using other scripting languages. Object-oriented programming.
6. Bugs in the engine. The problem is not that there is a bug, but the fact that it can fix the Unity technology only. All what you can do is to send the bug report. And you have to wait for the new version with fix of this bug.

While working with the engine I found over 10 bugs. Some of them are resolved changes in the parameters of component. Some have to find an alternative. Quite a lot of problems are with real-time shadows, lightmapping, etc. Most of the in-build components have to write myself. Because any non-standard features can’t be applied to them.

I give only 7 out of 10. Unity is very good engine, but not perfect. There is nothing perfect :)

BoxRam says
7 BoxRam

Aug 9th, 2014

No review provided

Greythorn says
7 Greythorn

Aug 8th, 2014

No review provided

Dewopalis says
7 Dewopalis

Oct 24th, 2013

No review provided

Twillza says
7 Twillza

Sep 3rd, 2013

No review provided

Induguys says
7 Induguys

Aug 17th, 2013

No review provided

moussie123 says
7 moussie123

Jul 17th, 2013

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

9

507 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.