The Source engine is a 3D game engine developed by Valve Corporation. Its unique features include a large degree of modularity and flexibility, an artist-driven, shader-based renderer, accurate lip sync and facial expression technology, and a powerful, efficient and completely network-enabled physics system.

Review RSS Feed Half_Kill says
10 Half_Kill

Nov 16th, 2010 17 people agree 3 people don't

Even tho it is aging and it is beginning to show its weakness comparred to other more modern engines, it is still my most preferred engine and the only one I was able to get into succesfully. And with all of the updates Valve is giving it, I think the source engine will be with us for a long time.

I wouldn't really recommend this for a commerical product, just because there are so many more modern engines out there that will be a lot easier in the long run (like UDK), but all of the commercial games that I have seen on the source engine are fantastic (like Bloody Good Time ect.)

The Source engine is a must for just about any mod, it is very easy to change and manipulate the engine, there are a **** ton of tutorials floating around the internet, and also because if its good enough, steamworks!

Long Live the Source Engine.

googoobla42 says
10 googoobla42

Jul 14th, 2011 9 people agree 0 people don't

Great engine, probably one of the only engines that my graphics card can handle.

Crazykevin says
10 Crazykevin

Nov 7th, 2010 13 people agree 4 people don't

VALVE IS AWESOME YEAH! *headbang*

ScorpioPolska says
10 ScorpioPolska

Jul 17th, 2011 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

Because i like games on Source engine like Half-Life 2, Team fortress and Counter-Strike: Source.

Dr.Goupyl says
10 Dr.Goupyl

Jan 29th, 2012 3 people agree 0 people don't

The best engine ever made for modding.

solink1234 says
10 solink1234

Dec 9th, 2012 2 people agree 0 people don't

team fortress 2

TheGeneralFilms says
10 TheGeneralFilms

Jul 19th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best engines I have ever seen.

Why do I like it?

There are 2 main reasons:
Fully custom,
so you can enjoy anti-lag gameplay
for low end PCs or
Beautiful graphics for High end.

The Source engine has lots of potential,
(as titanfall has shown us)
I love this engine.
It gave me games
such as
Half Life 2, Portal
and Titanfall.


Thanks Valve.

PotatoesCanFly13 says
10 PotatoesCanFly13

Jul 13th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Source may not be the most powerful engine, and its pretty old, but Source has held up and created such graphically intensive games such as Portal 2 and DotA 2!

Vatuu says
10 Vatuu

Jul 9th, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Just my favorite Engine! Its simple to learn/use, has nearly unlimited
uses(FPS, Puzzle, even RPGs). Aditional to this, its unbeliveable easy
to add new Content, make Mods or even create complete new Games.

Noobkiller2 says
10 Noobkiller2

May 21st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

Old as s**t,but its powerfull and beautiful looking
Thought the editor is hard to use,you will get used to it
Difference from 2006 and 2013 versions are big.
Valve update it no matter what

10/10 from me
A great engine

Community Rating

Average

9.6

1067 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.