The Refractor Engine, is a game engine designed by Stockholm-based studio Refraction Games, first developed for the computer game Codename Eagle, which was released in November 1999. Since then, Refraction Games was bought by Digital Illusions CE, and working alongside with the Refraction Games team, designed and developed the Refractor 2 Engine for the famous Battlefield game series for the computer.

Review RSS Feed Sgt_Prof says
10 Sgt_Prof

Aug 3rd, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

one of best engine. looks very modern as 2005 engine. I have BF2 and BF2142. very awesome !

aaro4130 says
10 aaro4130

Dec 5th, 2010 3 people agree 0 people don't

This game is great, perfect to play even on low mem computers, i has the best mods ever, and i am suprised it is still dominating over BF2!

dodek96_pl says
9 dodek96_pl

Oct 6th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

This is better than BF3. It is 6 or so years old and better than BF3. That is because of the modding abilities. Even though EA/DICE doesn't give a crap about it now, mod teams are still working on it and make the game even better.

Noobkiller2 says
10 Noobkiller2

Apr 14th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Why i put for this engine 10?
It supports my childhood game: Battlefield 2 and 2142
I like it :D

3RYL says
10 3RYL

Aug 7th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This engine is almost perfect.

The only things i dont like so much is the strange physics and the kit weapon system (if anyone know how to change this to a half life or codename eagle similar weapons system, tell me please!!!)

Cpt.Dann says
10 Cpt.Dann

Oct 21st, 2011 1 person agrees 0 people don't


*Pro*Player008 says
9 *Pro*Player008

Jul 31st, 2015 0 people agree 0 people don't

A good engine that can show us its performace through Battlefield 2 and 2142
With Mod Tools for game,you can even make it look as Frostbite 2 without destruction,even if its made in 2005.
The only problem with this engine is modding section,and instability while changing configurations or settings for it


*Pro*Vladkill1 says
10 *Pro*Vladkill1

Dec 3rd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Every game that was developed with this engine is my favorite
Im now likely to stay to this engine
Even if the Frostbite modding tools will apprear
I like it,i would like it before i die

FoxFort says
10 FoxFort

Mar 22nd, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't


Orsiro says
10 Orsiro

Aug 4th, 2015

No review provided

Community Rating



71 votes submitted.

You Say


Ratings closed.