jMonkeyEngine is a game development suite made especially for game developers who want to create 3D games with modern technology standards. The software is programmed entirely in Java, intended for wide accessibility and quick deployment.

Review RSS Feed Phr00t says
10 Phr00t

Apr 20th, 2012 7 people agree 0 people don't

Developer of 3079 here --

My game wouldn't have existed if it wasn't for this engine. This engine has done so many great things for me, and knowing it is purely Java based allows it to be completely cross-platform without any extra work. Did I mention it is free?

These guys deserve tons of credit. This engine is fast and full of features. It also includes a complete Software Development Kit with terrain editors and all sorts of gizmos.

Highly recommend this!

In response to other review comments:

* This engine does have the ability to determine mouse pointer position. How else did I do my inventory screen?

* This engine can do any type of 3D game, not just "Minecraft clones". Check out the jMonkeyEngine's site for more examples of what has been done by this engine.

lE0P0lD says
10 lE0P0lD

Dec 5th, 2011 3 people agree 0 people don't

Great game engine for any kind of indie game.

player100 says
10 player100

Apr 20th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

sounds kike you deserve it

taintedpyro813 says
10 taintedpyro813

May 22nd, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

This engine is great. it supports 2d and 3d games. Any java developer should get this. Has made it possible to make awesome games.

fbucur says
10 fbucur

Mar 18th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

Most flexible and fast engine. Great community. BSD license.

WhiteIbex says
10 WhiteIbex

Dec 28th, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

Likely the best Java game engine. Here is why:

PROS:
+ Very well documented
+ Mature code base
+ Great support for Blender files (models, animations, materials, etc.)
+ Commercial friendly open-source BSD license
+ Active community
+ Convenient multi-platform support without needing to cross-compile any code
+ Supports Android (even with native Bullet support!)

CONS:
- Physics has minor glitches, though that's more related to Bullet
- The SDK is only available for Netbeans. However, the engine itself is completely IDE independent.

deadlykam says
10 deadlykam

Dec 1st, 2013 0 people agree 0 people don't

One of the best game engine that I have used.

Silent_Scream says
10 Silent_Scream

Apr 23rd, 2012 0 people agree 0 people don't

This engine is the VERY reason that I am switching from learning C++ to learning Java.

The only game I've tried that used it is great, not too resource intensive, and still has a look that's worth watching. Additionally, this engine CAN do what many native-coded AAA game engines do, for free, with the possibility to make a profit., in a language that means that it's completely compatible with Mac, Linux, and Windows.

In short, develoupers of open world games should look no further.

sergiogsJp says
10 sergiogsJp

Apr 27th, 2014

No review provided

jiw-games says
10 jiw-games

Apr 4th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.7

44 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.