Previously referred to as the 'Doom 3 Engine', Tech 4 is id Software's current licensing platform. Powering games such as Doom 3, Quake 4 and Enemy Territory Quake Wars, Tech 4 revolutionized the use of realtime dynamic lighting as well as other technologies.

Review RSS Feed Juffe says
10 Juffe

Aug 9th, 2011 2 people agree 0 people don't

Doom FTW

motorsep says
10 motorsep

May 6th, 2013 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Clean code, extendable, cross-platform, unified lighting, decent tools, easy to mod, Blender <> idTech 4 art workflow. Good ol' engine with a lot of potential.

poshgaloo says
10 poshgaloo

Jul 5th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great engine that brought a game that scared the s*** out of me as a little kid.

anonreclaimer says
10 anonreclaimer

Apr 10th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

Great engine nice tools and games just wish making maps was easier.

Font4na says
10 Font4na

Nov 16th, 2011 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

Great modern graphics, and a very "simple" gaming engine (u know what i mean when i say simple)

Doom and Quake ROCK your computer, and if you play with this engine, then U ROCK BOSS!!!...

txrchon says
10 txrchon

Nov 25th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

This is the bestest game engine Ive ever used in my entire life and I only regret the lack of updates thru Doom3 and thats my only complaint, really ; , *

Biel7318 says
10 Biel7318

Oct 16th, 2014 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

open source engine, which is totally modern and expanding, has the potential to become the de facto engine for Creative Commons game and for indie developers

gabriel3210 says
10 gabriel3210

Jul 21st, 2013 1 person agrees 1 person doesn't

This is an excellent engine, with modern graphics. And has a few great games like: Doom 3, Quake 4, Enemy Territory Quake Wars and Wolfenstein. And finally this engine was made by the best video game company in the world, Id Software.

Paused says
10 Paused

May 16th, 2012 0 people agree 1 person doesn't

The best game engine!

HellknightX says
10 HellknightX

Aug 14th, 2014

No review provided

Community Rating

Average

8.8

115 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.