This engine is the code behind "The game Creator's" FPS Creator development tool, A powerful, yet rough FPS engine.

Review RSS Feed Inbredguppey says
10 Inbredguppey

Dec 22nd, 2010 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

This engine is only limited by the user. I recommend this if you want to teach yourself programming. It's always best to learn by hours of frustration, other than days of no work at all. This engine was bad enough to give a 10/10. Hooray.

EricBoyceU says
10 EricBoyceU

Mar 15th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

great free engine to make games!

opfor00 says
10 opfor00

Mar 5th, 2013 2 people agree 0 people don't

i love fpsc

Niclauke says
10 Niclauke

Dec 18th, 2010 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

With the newest update,
it has melee, dark ai, ironsights, bloom and lotsamore.
Easiest engine ever!

Awesome engine.
9/10

JasonTGamer says
8 JasonTGamer

Oct 14th, 2012 1 person agrees 0 people don't

This is a very good engine for beginners and advanced users alike. I have been making games with this for a while, and it is one of the few "good" game creation softwares that i have stumbled upon. Also, anyone familiar with the Slenderman's Shadow series should know that this engine was used to create those maps, so you know that it's pretty damn powerful!

griffjoshua says
6 griffjoshua

Jun 13th, 2010 2 people agree 1 person doesn't

If you're looking to start a career in game development, then the FPS Creator isn't a bad choice as a starting point. The map editor is basic and very easy to use. Add some grass here, place a few weapons and enemies there, it's all done with a few clicks depending on how big you want to level to be.

You can make your own single player games and multiplayer arena games. Some people have even made their own games and sold them online as well as high street shops. For example, you can look for Robert D. Anderson & The Legacy Of Cthulhu on shopping sites such as Amazon, eBay, etc. If you want to sell your games, you don't need to give The Game Creators any royalties or pay for licensing fees.

What really lets the FPS Creator down is the dated and buggy engine. The graphics look dull, the AI is bad (even though you can edit the AI scripts), your levels can glitch up when there are a lot of entities on the map and larger levels can cause performance issues.

As for content, there are a variety enemy types, weapons, objects and scenery based on which time period you're making your game in (World War II, Modern and future). You download more items for the FPS Creator from the Game Creator Store. Some of these items are free while others cost game creator points which can be bought online, or you can get these points for free by watching advertisements, answering surveys, downloading game clients, etc.

Overall, the FPS Creator isn't bad, but it does have its engine related issues which can put some people off. The asking price of £32 is worth it, considering that you don't have to pay for any licensing or royalty fees if you want to sell your games online.

As for the experts who know how to make maps and mods with other game engines (Source, Id Tech, Unreal Engine, etc), this package should be avoided.

ElizaCassan says
8 ElizaCassan

Nov 21st, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

First, I'm more into modding than "real" game creation, but I gave this fella a try.

I've only tried it for a month, but what I've seen is amazing, really. While the programming is not really well optimized, the graphics' side of the product is really breathtaking for a mere 30$ engine.

The engine supports normal and emissive mapping, specular highlights but also High Dynamic Range, ragdoll physics, dynamic projected shadows & lighthing, animated textures, cubemapping, reflective sufaces such as water, mirror and floors.

A great engine for beginners, the only thing i don't like is that the engine is litterally plagued by tons of content, which have to be paid. It may be not a great issue if you have some knowledge into 3D and texturing work, but it's very annoying to know that some of the features I've enunciated have to be paid ( they are shaders ).

Because of this, I cannot give it more than 8

honeywaffles says
2 honeywaffles

Nov 15th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

I used to love this application when I was about 12. How are people still using this? It is outdated, basic and buggy as hell. If you want to make the most generic FPS game of all time then use this engine. If you want to make anything even slightly different, use something else, please. Unity is almost as easy to learn as this crap and 100x as flexible.

ChristosLoukas says
10 ChristosLoukas

Sep 10th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It is the most user friendly game engine i ve come accross! It can be great for someone who wants to learn programming.but it can be good for professionals also,-it depends on the user!

Pixel-Eater says
7 Pixel-Eater

Apr 13th, 2014 0 people agree 0 people don't

It's a great engine when it is used properly. But, it does have a few flaws that prevent it from being the best it can be.

Community Rating

Average

6.8

170 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.