The C4 Engine is a comprehensive suite of professional, robustly implemented game programming tools for PlayStation 4, Windows, Mac, and Linux.

Review RSS Feed thiagogirello says
10 thiagogirello

May 17th, 2012 9 people agree 1 person doesn't

It's the best engine for big and serious projects. The engine really shines at the tecnology side, with voxel terrain and dynamic fluid.

Davaris says
10 Davaris

Feb 2nd, 2013 8 people agree 1 person doesn't

I've been working with this engine for almost 2 years and love the code base. You do not need external libraries like stdlib or boost and nothing is hidden, so in the rare case that bugs are encountered, they are found and removed by the engine creator almost immediately.

Great engine and fast service in the forums.

Edit:
It is October 2014 and C4 Engine has reached version 4.0. This is the biggest update in its history and its selling for an unbeatable price, so I thought I'd update my old review.

The new demos look fantastic and show what can be done by a two man team. The new island level is great and the cemetery level is particularly impressive. If you like isometric style games like I do, get yourself killed in the island demo and it will let you fly around it. That way you will see the engine runs well, from that viewpoint as well.

The physics has been improved and the world manager has been reworked, so the more nodes there are in a world, the better it performs.

The visual scripting has several improvements, the most important to me, is being able to run multiple scripts from the same script and the addition of the Activate Trigger and Deactivate Trigger methods.

The world editor has been improved, with all tools arranged in 5 tabs and the new gizmo is very, very, nice. A couple of new tool pages have been added, including one that manages both node selection and visibility and a node finder page, both of which are must haves.

There are many other improvements, described in the release notes for 4.0.

I'm still enjoying using this engine very much and wouldn't use any other. I have added Recast Navigation, Raven AI, a HTN planner, a ton of my own code and everything is rock solid and compiles quickly. The service in the forums is excellent as always and the current price is a world beater, so I suggest everyone check it out.

dbouvier says
10 dbouvier

Apr 13th, 2013 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

I've only been working with the C4 Engine for a while now, but I've had enough experience with other game engines, to tell you what things made C4 the obvious choice for me.

Integrity - Refreshing to see an engine tell it straight about needing source code access. Anyone saying different is telling half truths. Period.
Cost - Reasonable price, forever, no upgrade costs, no royalties to further constrain your budget! Depending on your license type you can even have small features added or problems solved for your own needs. For simple problems Eric or the community will normally help over the forums.
Support - Eric is terrific, I can't say this enough, timely responses to questions/problems, new features and bug fixes regularly worked on. A professional and mature community offers its support as well.
Architecture - The design, and the clean thoughtful approach taken to implementing all its features makes understanding and working with it an enjoyable experience.
Features - Regularly being updated, the roadmap shows the few features missing that contenders offer (SSAO, HDR) are being implemented, plus it offers a some things you will only find in C4 like Transvoxel Terrain, Horizon Mapping for example. Being able to request small feature additions, and have a part in discussing with the community and Eric himself the importance and implementation of features shouldn't be under-stated.
Performance - After some stress testing, I'm extremely impressed how far I can push it. It's well designed to let me push the envelope in an organized way.
Modular - Full source and a clean design lets me choose my priorities and extend as needed.
Plugins - Being able to add plug in new features as opposed to replacing parts of the engine allows you keep your game updated to the latest version of the engine without needing to manually merge them.

Extremely happy with my choice of the C4 Engine. If you serious about making a game, take a serious look at C4, you'll be happy you did!

jimbobjames says
10 jimbobjames

Apr 5th, 2013 7 people agree 1 person doesn't

I've been using C4 for almost 7 years and I can highly recommend it if you're looking for an engine with source code and excellent support.

smittix says
10 smittix

Apr 27th, 2011 8 people agree 2 people don't

As an indie dev who has used several engines, I can say that C4 is by far the best value for it's price range.

stewiekern says
10 stewiekern

Oct 7th, 2010 6 people agree 1 person doesn't

I have used several engines, and C4 has by far the best design I have ever seen. It's really a pleasure to work with this engine after dealing with all the hidden shortcomings of engines like Unity, and it even costs less. Plus there are frequent updates and the community is very professional.

wtblife says
10 wtblife

May 25th, 2013 4 people agree 1 person doesn't

The C4 Engine has become one of the most impressive engines out there while still maintaining a low price tag and providing updates free of charge. Not only are new features constantly being added, but the community is one of the most helpful I've ever seen.

One of the key things that makes the C4 Engine stand out is that the sole developer of the engine personally responds to all questions through the forums and provides the highest quality of support possible. Not only is he extremely knowledgeable, but he is dedicated to both the engine and it's licensees and goes out of his way to ensure that your game succeeds.

Jaswolf says
10 Jaswolf

Oct 17th, 2014 2 people agree 0 people don't

A fantastic and powerful game engine made with love and passion for those who want a maximum control over their projects development.

Couple of years ago it was a diamond in the rough, now it is a glorious diamond in its full splendeur.

And for 88$ !!! You can't go wrong, give it a try.

asgeirb says
10 asgeirb

Feb 21st, 2014 3 people agree 1 person doesn't

I can't say enough good things about this engine. The community is very supportive and active. The engine is in constant development and the quality of the engine code is unsurpassed (for instance I have never seen such short build times for a project of this size).

Coming from Unity the world editor can be a bit intimidating at first but having full access to the engine, rather than the black-box Unity is, is invaluable.

I do recommend reading the two published books about the engine to get started quickly.

Rastar says
10 Rastar

Oct 20th, 2014 1 person agrees 0 people don't

I've been using the C4 engine for about two years now. The market for game engines certainly has changed a lot during that time, and I've also looked at the big names that are selling their engines for peanuts these days, but I always keep coming back to C4. There are a lot of reasons why this engine is such a great choice:

- Performance. C4 is highly optimized and runs very well even on legacy hardware.

- Stability. C4 is rock solid, it rarely crashes during design and run time, and those rare cases usually are due to some bugs in the GPU drivers of Nvidia and AMD and not the engine itself.

- Clean code. The engine's structure is well organized and consistent. This will reflect in your game code.

- Open source. With a license for C4 you'll have access to the complete source code.

- Support. C4's community is very friendly and helpful. In addition, Eric Lengyel (the author of C4) is present on the forums daily and will answer tricky questions, usually within hours.

- Functionality. C4 has a tons of features, some of which aren't apparent at first sight (and not marketed aggressively). It has a nice graphical shader editor, a very performant mechanism for indirect lighting called "radiosity space", a full suite of CSG tools, an out-of-the-box implementation for infinite oceans, impostors and much, much more.

- Cross-platform. C4 runs on all desktop OSs (and by the way has been available for Linux for years now), and an iOS version is coming soon.

- Price. With the new licensing model for version 4.0, the engine is just $88 per year. No royalties. And if you don't extend your subscription, your still allowed to use the engine and publish games with it.

Admittedly, C4's user interface looks a little dated, and the engine is currently lacking some graphical features like HDR (which is being worked on), but that shouldn't trick you into believing C4 isn't capable. Game development is hard, even if some big names seem to claim that you just have to buy some ready-made assets and stick them together with some scripting, but it doesn't work like that. If you're doing anything more involved than Tappy Chicken you will have to roll up your sleeves and get coding. And an engine that won't let you run into a wall at some point is much more important than a shiny user interface.

With the new pricing there is no excuse not to try C4 and see for yourself why this is such a great engine!

Community Rating

Average

8.7

34 votes submitted.

You Say

-

Ratings closed.